Debt and Suicide

This is my first blog post.

I’ve started this blog because I am emerging from the longest depression I’ve had so far in my short life. I am 24 and for the last year and a half, I’ve experienced more dark days than I’d care to recount. My life has changed a lot, however, and one of the signs that shows me I’m getting out of my depression is that my passion is back. Both for writing, and for helping folks. This blog is the result of that.

I recently watched a documentary called “Maxed Out,” on NetFlix. I love documentaries. 

I don’t want to spoil it for you, and I plan on writing a review in a later post, but the topic of suicide – as a way out of crippling debt – was a prevalent theme in the film. It broke my heart, because I know quite well what it’s like to feel hopeless. It also broke my heart that so many people who had gotten into the debt that killed them were overwhelmed because they felt alone and incapable of overcoming what had happened to them. This blog is to remind you you’re not alone, and you can do it.

The following is a passage of scripture that was read by Jesus and is about Jesus (he read it to people in a synagogue, so don’t think that the religious have all their stuff together and don’t need a message like this):

18 “The Spirit of the Lord is upon me,
for he has anointed me to bring Good News to the poor.
He has sent me to proclaim that captives will be released,
that the blind will see,
that the oppressed will be set free,
19 and that the time of the Lord’s favor has come.[f]

– Luke 4

If you identify as poor, or captive, or blind, or oppressed, I dedicate this blog to you. Money is a brutal master. The good news is Jesus, and his burden is light.

If you’ve ever thought about suicide – for whatever reason – check out the  resources available to help you.  While my reasons may have been different, I know what hopelessness feels like, and I can tell you, it’s a lie. 

As I write this blog, I pray it will give courage and power and the know-how to those who are otherwise like a fish out of water with their finances.

Let’s do this thing.

Leave a Reply

